Did you know that in California, women may not drive in a housecoat, or that no vehicle without a driver may exceed 60 miles per hour? We are not pulling your leg. These are real laws that are still written in California’s law books. They are not the only weird, odd, peculiar laws this state still has today. In addition to those,
In order to have fun and celebrate the 4th of July, you need to understand the proper safety rules. Drinking responsibly is something you practice and preach day in and day out. However, fireworks safety is something you do not see or use on a regular basis. If you do not really know the safety rules for fireworks usage, do not be ashamed, just keep reading.
First things first: fireworks are not toys and must only be handled by those who are responsible enough to know how to use them safely.
Fireworks should be used outdoors, and there should be a supply of water within easy reach. Instructions are printed on the fireworks package, so whoever is involved should read through those thoroughly before using them.
The person setting off the fireworks should not wear loose clothing, as they d...
In California, you can be charged with a hit and run, even if the accident was not your fault. If you are involved in an accident, you are required to give your contact information to the other driver before you leave, regardless if the accident was your fault or not.
You can be charged with a misdemeanor if you caused damage, not just to another vehicle but also to property, like a building, a window, a fence, or even another person’s pet.
You can be charged with a felony hit and run if you leave the scene without providing any contact information even though you know that the other driver and his or her passengers were unhurt. If you had passengers in your vehicle and they were injured in the hit and run, then you can be charged with the felony.
The penalties for hit and run crimes ...
In California, we love our pets as much as we love our brothers and sisters, which is why we have a Good Samaritan law that makes it legal to smash a car window to save an animal. The law has been in effect for almost a year, and it is designed to protect the individual who smashed the car window from criminal charges. In order to be fully protected, the individual must remain present after smashing the window until the police arrive.
Everyone knows that a hot car is a dangerous weapon. If it is hot outside, the car is even hotter inside, and the car heats up very quickly too. Even 5 minutes inside a hot car can be deadly. For example, in 2016, on a 91 degree day in San Diego, firefighters rescued a dog from a car that was found to be 160 degrees on the inside...
Leaving Your Child Unattended in the Car
Do you choose convenience over safety and responsibility, or the other way around? For example, when you have your 4 year old child with you and you need to run into the store to pick up toilet paper on the way home, would you consider leaving your child alone in the parked car? You’d only run into the store for 5 minutes. You are thinking that if you have to bring them, you would certainly be slowed down because they can get fussy.
If you do consider the more convenient idea of leaving your child alone in the car for a few minutes, you should think again. Not only is this an irresponsible decision, it would be an illegal one...
“It is not every day that you break a law,” you think to yourself. Little do you know that statement might actually be false. It could very well be that you are breaking some law everyday and you do not even realize it. It is not just you, a lot of people are breaking a handful of laws everyday without even knowing. Here are some of those laws:
Letting someone else use your Netflix account.
Last year, it was made officially illegal to share your password to streaming sites like Netflix and Hulu. Before it became a law, everyone knew that technically sharing your account with any number of friends or family is wrong. You can have 5 friends use your account yet you are only paying the low rate. Now it is officially illegal to share your password; did you know that?
Connecting to unsecur...
Hopefully, you won’t be spending any time behind bars this year. The year may be almost by half over, but summer is just beginning. We are willing to bet that you have got some travel plans in the works, and most definitely, a lot of partying plans. That is the recipe for a great, memorable summer, and we hope it turns out that way.
Getting arrested would definitely make it a memorable summer, but we hope it won’t end up being a part of your summer. Trust us, getting arrested might be a cool story, but it is quite a pain to deal with. You sit in jail for hours, then you pay off your bail bond and spend the next few months going in and out of the courtroom. You probably miss some work days, and you definitely miss your freedom and time that could be spent with loved ones...
Whether it is 2 pm on a Wednesday, or 3 AM on a Saturday, you can count on the team at San Francisco Bail Bond Store for all of your bail bond needs. San Francisco Bail Bond Store knows that people need their help at even the oddest hours of the day, so that is why they never close. Police do not close down after 6 PM; they often make arrests late at night and in the early hours of the morning. Likewise, San Francisco Bail Bond Store does not close down. San Francisco Bail Bond Store is available 24/7, state-wide in California, to help out anyone and everyone.
In addition to being available at all hours of the day, San Francisco Bail Bond Store will provide each client with a custom bail bond payment schedule...
Drone flying can be fun, and get some great aerial footage, but drones are not toys. Anyone who flies a drone must do so within the rules and regulations set by the FAA. Even if a person is not intentionally flying their drone in violation of the restrictions, it is no excuse. Not knowing the rules will not prevent you from needing to fines that are around a few hundred to one, to two thousand dollars. Here are some past instances where a person was mishandling the operation of their drone, and was forced to pay a fine as a result.
Tuscaloosa, AL, November 2015
Gregory Taylor was flying his drone over the Bryant Denny Football stadium during tailgating when it hit a pedestrian. He turned himself in and was fined $1,100.
San Juan, Puerto Rico, October 2015
Two drones collided in midair an...
California has a so-called “Three Strikes” law that was introduced in 1994. Think of this like the “three strikes, you are out” mantra that goes with baseball. A player has 3 chances to hit the ball. If they get three strikes, they are out.
This Three Strikes law concerns convicted felons. If the convicted felon is faced with a second, new felony, they are sentenced to twice the prison time than what they would have faced if they were not already a convict. If the felon has two felonies and faces a third conviction, the Three Strikes law kicks in to automatically sentence them to 25 years to life in prison.
Since 1994, the Three Strikes law has been amended multiple times to be as fair as possible...