It doesn’t matter how many images of horrific wrecks insurance companies and auto agencies put out to warn drivers of the dangers of texting and driving, we still do it. Each of us has this weird impression that surely sending a quick response to the most recent incoming text won’t do anything wrong.
Since the warnings aren’t enough to convince the vast majority of us to stop texting while we’re behind the wheel, California lawmakers have decided to pass laws that they hope will discourage the dangerous habit.
The issue of texting and driving is covered by California’s distracted driving laws. These laws weren’t altered in 2021, but it’s always a good idea to review them. Especially if your budget and driving record can’t take the hit of another ticket.
At this point, the ...
For the most part, loitering is harmless and doesn’t bother anyone, but there are times when someone will object to your behavior. When this happens, the irritated person may call the cops. It’s at this point that you learn the legal ins and outs of loitering in California.
Loitering in California is a little difficult to define. Loitering is essentially the act of hanging out somewhere when you don’t have any particular need to be in that place. Sitting in a restaurant and chatting with friends even though you are no longer eating, lingering at the bus stop so you can people watch, and soaking up the sun in a convenience store parking lot are all examples of loitering.
The issue of loitering in California became a legal aspect of interest in 1983 when the U.S...
California law states that any “vehicle which has been left unattended, standing, parked upon or within 10 feet of the traveled portion of the highway for more than 48 hours, or a vehicle left standing or parked on private property more than 24 hours or upon other public property for more than 30 days,” is an abandoned vehicle. The same is true of a vehicle that’s been left on the side of the highway for 72 hours and hasn’t been reported by the owner.
If you are the owner of a piece of property that has an abandoned car on it, you’re not allowed to automatically assume ownership of the vehicle. Legally, you’re required to report it. The state will then process the vehicle and ultimately decide what to do with it...
The state and federal law books are full of felonies, but court officers, lawyers, and police officers will quickly tell you that some felonies are common while there are others they’ve never encountered.
Here is a list of the most common felony arrests and convictions.
Felony Drug Crimes
There are so many different drug-related felonies that it’s easier to lump them into one category than to sort them out. It’s worth noting that in many cases if a person is charged with a drug-related crime, it’s likely that they’ve been charged with multiple different drug offenses.
Examples of drug-related felonies include:
- Possession with intent to sell
- Distribution and Trafficking
It’s important to note that many of these charges are wobbler offense...
Everyone knows that if you get behind the wheel and drive your car after you’ve had too much to drink that you’ll be arrested and have to deal with some serious legal consequences. What you might not know is that alcohol can get you into trouble even if you don’t plan on driving.
If you’re severely drunk (or under the influence of drugs) while in public, you could be charged with public intoxication in California.
The good news is that the police probably won’t arrest you just because you’ve had one too many and are walking home. However, if you’re the type of person who makes strange choices when you’re drunk, you’re night out could end with you getting locked in a jail cell.
In California, the police can arrest you if you for public intoxication if you’re in public and...
Nothing about the death of a loved one is easy. Not only do you have to deal with your grief and sense of loss, but it also won’t be long before you find yourself trying to straighten out their finances and learning what debts they still owe. Figuring out the finances and making sure all outstanding debts are paid is stressful, time-consuming, and confusing.
The first thing you need to figure out which of your loved one’s debts have to be honored and which became irrelevant when your loved one passed.
Are You Responsible for the Debts?
While very few debts simply disappear when a loved one has passed, it’s unlikely that you’ll have to dip into your own bank account to pay them off. The only time you’ll have to dip into your own money is when you co-signed on a loan with the loved...
Assault with a deadly weapon is basically what it sounds like. It means you are accused of assaulting someone and at the time you had something that could have been considered a deadly weapon. Like most legal issues, assault with a deadly weapon isn’t as simple as we would like it to be.
What is a Deadly Weapon?
The first issue that comes up during assault with deadly weapon trials is if the object was deadly. Most of us hear deadly weapons and we instantly think of things like guns and knives. We don’t usually realize that many of the things that are simply laying around your house could be considered a deadly weapon in the right situation. In the heat of the moment, a shoe, pen, heavy beer bottle, or dog leash could become a deadly weapon...
Most of us have been involved in pranks, both as the person pulling the prank on another and as someone who has been pranked. In most cases, the pranks are fun and no one is emotionally or physically hurt, but there is always an exception.
The best indicator that a prank has gone too far is that the police have gotten involved. In the eyes of the law, it doesn’t matter if you were pulling a prank or if you deliberately set about to hurt someone. If a law was broken, you could end up in jail.
Most pranks attract legal attention because someone has gotten seriously hurt or property was damaged during the prank.
Here is a small sample of the type of pranks that could potentially get you into hot legal water.
Making Prank Calls
Prank calls seem harmless...
Owning a rental property is a great opportunity to earn extra money while also helping resolve a small portion of California’s rental housing crisis.
While there are many good things that go along with owning a rental property there are also some downsides. One such drawback is when you have a tenant who simply refuses to move out of your home.
The good news is that there are some things you can do.
California law states that you have a right to tell your tenant that they’re evicted when they’ve:
- Failed to pay their rent
- When they do something that blatantly breaks the rental contract, such as having a dog in a no-pets property
- The tenant has done so much damage to the property that it’s lowered the overall property value
- The tenant is on the property when they break the law
Most Americans know that the First Amendment grants the right to free speech. The problem that many of us encounter is we don’t fully grasp the differences between free speech and slander.
What is Free Speech?
Many of us interpret the First Amendment to mean that we’re free to say whatever we want, to whomever we want, whenever we want. That’s not the way free speech works. The purpose of free speech is to provide Americans with the ability to openly speak against the government without fear of legal ramifications.
What freedom of speech doesn’t do is allow you to say whatever you want about neighbors, family, and businesses you don’t like.
What is Slander?
The legal definition of slander is, “oral defamation, in which someone tells one or more persons an untruth about another ...