Awkward Conversations can Prevent College Problems

Students are trying to hold onto what they have left of summer while parents prepare to send them off to school once more, leaving them with an empty nest and additional concerns about how their kid is managing living away from home. In college, they live with their friends and are invited to weekly parties where alcohol is served, where some people take drugs, and where others engage in sexual activity. A lot goes on at college outside of the classroom. Parents know, they were kids once. Now they want to make sure their own kid is safe and making sound judgments.

As a parent, you have the right to sit your child down, no matter how old they are, and have what they would consider to be an uncomfortable and awkward conversation...

How to Explain Your Spouse’s Arrest to Your Child

If you thought having to explain to your child that Santa is not a real person would be difficult, think about having to explain why their parent is being taken away by the police. Where are they going? Why are they taking them away? How long will it be until they can come back home? This is tough information to deal with and hopefully you can figure out the best way to approach this conversation with your child.

Your child’s age will be a factor when it comes to figuring out which facts and how much information they need to know. Obviously, if your child is a teenager or older, they will have a pretty good understanding of the severity of the overall situation. If your child is in elementary school or is a toddler, they may not comprehend the seriousness of the situation.

Dealing with ...

Responsibilities of Being a Parent

Being a parent takes an incredible amount of responsibility, including legal responsibility. Until a child turns 18 and becomes a legal adult, their parents are responsible for them in many ways. This includes needing to pay for consequences should their child get into trouble, cause problems, and/or get arrested. The parents can hold their children accountable at home, but the justice system will hold the parents accountable too.

If a child damages other property, such as graffiti’s a wall, breaks a window, or runs a car into another, the parents will have to cover the financial responsibilities of paying for the damages. The money goes towards the victim or person who owns the damaged property...

No Exceptions to Underage Drinking

Even if it happens under your roof and under your supervision, underage drinking is illegal in California.

The minimum drinking age across the United States is 21, but there are some states that allow exceptions to this rule when teens are drinking in the presence of, and with the permission of their parents. Some of those states include Virginia, South Carolina, and New Mexico. California is excluded from this list, meaning that even if a parent gives their 20 year old a sip of their cocktail, they can get in trouble.

In California, supplying a minor with alcohol is most often a misdemeanor offense. Adults who are charged with this misdemeanor will face time in jail, up to 1 year, though it is usually less than 2 months...

After Graduation Comes Partying and Traveling

More likely than not, high school seniors and 4th years in college are not going to be spending this next month or so making their papers an A+ and studying for finals and exams. Mentally, they are pretty much done with school. All that is on their mind now is graduation, summer, and that unparalleled feeling of having completed schooling. Before they move on to higher education or work, they plan on taking a well-deserved vacation with some friends. As their proud parent, you are supportive of this; you too feel they deserve it. Yet, you cannot help but have some reservations before they graduate and leave.

Now that they are no longer a minor, you have less control and say over them. To them, this is freedom when they want to go out and have fun...

Can a Parent Give their Child Alcohol?

Like all states, the minimum age for drinking alcohol in California is 21. However, unlike other states, there are no exceptions to this rule in California. For example, some states allow minors to drink alcohol under the allowance and supervision of their parent or legal guardian, but this is not allowed in California.

In California, minors who violate the legal age drinking laws for the first time face a $250 fine and 24-32 hours of community service. For subsequent violations, the minor is looking at a fine of $500 maximum and 36 to 48 hours of community service. If they have their driver’s license, it can be suspended for 1 year.

Any individual who is caught providing the minor with alcohol faces a $1,000 fine and 24 hours of community service...